Walks Schedule 2018

Before walking with us, please click here for information about walk grading and safety.

Wednesday walks start at 9.00 am from the upper car park at Whitaker Park (opposite Ski Rossendale) unless otherwise stated, and are usually between 9-11 miles.

Thursday evening walks (May to Aug) are local shorter walks of 3-5 miles, which start at various locations (usually a pub) – see the ‘Latest News/Upcoming Walks’ page of our website a week or so before the date of the walk for details.

Friday linear walks involve public transport, so bring your bus pass if you have one.  They are usually between 9-11 miles.  These walks start at various locations – see the ‘Latest News/Upcoming Walks’ page of our website a week or two before the date of the walk for details.

2nd & 4th Sunday walks start at 9.00 am from Kay Street car park in Rawtenstall unless otherwise stated, and are usually between 9-11 miles..  Please note that we do not walk on every Sunday, so do check the schedule before turning up at Kay Street!!

3rd Sunday walks (Feb to Oct) are local shorter walks of 5-6 miles, which start at various locations – see the ‘Latest News/Upcoming Walks’ page of our website a week or so before the date of the walk for details.

Walk leaders’ contact details are given when the final information about a walk is published in the ‘Latest News/Upcoming Walks’ page of our website.  If you are in any doubt about your ability to undertake a walk, or if you simply want further details, then please contact the designated leader in good time beforehand.

Please note that the distances quoted are approximations, so the actual distance may vary up or down by 10-15%, depending on route and conditions.

Useful shortcut As the year goes on, scrolling down to forthcoming walks takes longer and longer.  To go directly to walks in a particular month, simply type the first few letters of the month in the search box on the right below.  This can also be used to see if there are any walks in a particular area, eg Grassington.

DateStart timeLeaderMileageStart locationGradeDetails
Wed 3 Jan 9 amRosemary10BarrowfordMBlacko, Rimington Moor, Barley, and Roughlee
Sun 7 Jan 9 amAngela7.5ClowbridgeMFirst Sunday walk, plus lunch at the New Waggoners
Wed 10 Jan 9 amRoy10Hurst GreenMCarlinghurst, Knowle Green, Cox Farm, Bailey Hall
Sun 14 Jan 10 amDougie7.5Kay Street, RawtenstallMTextile Trail
Wed 17 Jan 9 amUrsula10SalterforthMBarnoldswick, Weets Hill, Slipper Hill Reservoir, Foulridge Lower Reservoir
Wed 24 Jan 9 amDavid H10Horton in RibblesdaleMPennine Way, Ribble Way
Sun 28 Jan 9 amTom10RYLSTONEM
Wed 31 Jan 9 amJean10TBAM
Wed 7 Feb 9 amArnold10DownhamMPendleton & Worston
Sun 11 Feb 9 amRosemary10TBAM
Wed 14 Feb 9 amJudy10Whitaker ParkMRawtenstall, Irwell Vale, Scout Moor, Cowpe Lowe
Sun 18 Feb10.30 amArnold6Witton ParkEBeamers Trail
Wed 21 Feb 9 amRob10TBAM
Sun 25 Feb 9 amDerek13.5RibbleheadIAround Great Hill and over Blea Moor
Wed 28 Feb 9 amRoger F10Hurst GreenM
Wed 7 Mar 9 amTom10GARGRAVEM
Sun 11 Mar 9 amJean10M
Wed 14 Mar 9 amMike T10West BradfordM
Sun 18 Mar10.30 amDerek6WhalleyERead Park & Whalley Banks
Wed 21 Mar 9 amJohn D11HurstwoodMExtwhistle Moor, Gorple
Fri 23 MarTBADerek10.5RawtenstallMLinear from Bacup to Rawtenstall
Sun 25 Mar 9 amRoy10Charnock RichardM
Wed 28 Mar 9 amRoger P10SaddleworthMSaddleworth
Wed 4 Apr 9 amRosemary10TBAM
Sun 8 Apr 9 amGill10GargraveM
Wed 11 Apr 9 amDerek10LuddendenMLuddenden Dean & Midgley Moor
Sun 15 Apr10.30 amJudy6RawtenstallERawtenstall / Crawshawbooth circular
Wed 18 Apr 9 amJean10TBAM
Sun 22 Apr 9 amDougie10BurnleyMBow Forest Trail
Wed 25 Apr 9 amJudy10LittleboroughMWarland reservoir & Blackstone Edge
Fri 27 Apr 9 amDerek10TBAMLinear
Wed 2 May 9 amArnold10StorithsMBolton Abbey and Simon's Seat
Thurs 3 May7 pmArnold4-5TBAEShort evening walk
Wed 9 May 9 amDerek10Dove StoneM/IDove Stone Reservoir
Sun 13 May 9 amGill10-12FeizorMBluebells
Wed 16 May 9 amRoy10BroadbottomMGoing East Pt 1 - Bluebells
Sun 20 May10.30 amCarol6TBAE
Wed 23 May 9 amJohn D11Horton in RibblesdaleMSelside, Hull Pot
Fri 25 May 9 amDerek10TBAMLinear
Sun 27 May 9 amTom10LothersdaleM
Wed 30 May 9 amUrsula10TBAM
Wed 6 June 9 amBasil10TBAM
Thurs 7 June7 pmTBA4-5TBAEShort evening walk
Sun 10 June 9 amRoy10WaddingtonM
Wed 13 June 9 amDerek11Pateley BridgeMBewerley Moor & Coldstone Cut
Sun 17 June10.30 amJudy6WalshawEAffetside Circular
Wed 20 June 9 amGraham10ColneMWycoller, Boulsworth Bottoms, Trawden, Carry Bridge
Sun 24 June 9 amRoy10Horton in RibblesdaleM
Wed 27 June 9 amRob10TBAM
Fri 29 JuneTBADerek10TBAMLinear
Wed 4 July 9 amPaul10TBAM
Thurs 5 July7 pmTBA4-5TBAEShort evening walk
Sun 8 July9 amTom10CartmelM
Wed 11 July 9 amDerek10.5Grimwith ReservoirMTroller's Gill revisited
Sun 15 July10.30 amGill6GawthorpeE
Wed 18 July 9 amJohn D10TBAM
Sun 22 July 9 amJean10TBAM
Wed 25 July 9 amRoy10Marple BridgeMGoing East Pt 2
Fri 27 JulyTBADerek10TBAMLinear
Wed 1 Aug 9 amDerek10Horton in RibblesdaleM/IPen-y-ghent
Thurs 2 Aug7 pmTBA4-5TBAEShort evening walk
Wed 8 Aug 9 amGlyn10.5KettlewellMArncliffe, Starbotton, Cam Head
Sun 12 Aug 9 amRosemary10TBAM
Wed 15 Aug 9 amArnold11SawleyMGisburn & Bolton-by-Bowland
Sun 19 Aug10.30 amCarol6TBAE
Wed 22 Aug 9 amJudy10TodmordenMGauxholme, Ramsden Clough Reservoir, Flower Scar Hill, Lydgate
Sun 26 Aug 9 amDerek12Cattle grid near EastbyMBurnsall & Rylstone Fell
Wed 29 Aug 9 amMary10TBAM
Fri 31 AugTBADerek10TBAMLinear
Sun 2 Sep 9 amLocal walk?Round the Hills WalkH
Wed 5 Sep 9 amGraham10M
Wed 12 Sep 9 amDerek11GrassingtonMYarnbury, Mossdale, Kelber
Sun 16 Sep10.30 amArnold6Hurst GreenETolkien Trail
Wed 19 Sep 9 amRoy10Marple BridgeMGoing East Pt 3
Sun 23 Sep 9 amJean10TBAM
Wed 26 Sep 9 amAndy10TBAM
Fri 28 SepTBADerek10TBAMLinear
Wed 3 Oct 9 amMike T10TBAMBowland Knots
Wed 10 Oct 9 amRoger F10TBAM
Sun 14 Oct9 amUrsula10TBAM
Wed 17 Oct 9 amDerek10Conistone BridgeMConistone & Grassington
Sun 21 Oct 10.30 amCarol 6TBAE
Wed 24 Oct 9 amGlyn10DimpleMCadshaw Valley, Catherine Edge
Fri 26 OctTBADerek10TBAMLinear
Sun 28 Oct9 amRoy10WrayM
Wed 31 Oct9 amDougie10Edisford BridgeMEdisford Hike
Wed 7 Nov 9 amUrsula10TBAM
Sun 11 Nov 9 amGill10TBAM
Wed 14 Nov 9 amJean10TBAM
Sun 18 Nov 10.30 amDerek5.5Turton TowerECheetham Close & Wayoh
Wed 21 Nov 9 amTBA10TBAM
Sun 25 Nov 9 amRoy10Mellor BrookM
Wed 28 Nov 9 amDougie10TBAM
Wed 5 Dec 9 amRosemary10TBAM
Sun 9 Dec 9 amRoy10WhalleyM
Wed 12 Dec 9 amJudy10BacupMBroad Clough, Deerplay, Sharneyford
Wed 19 Dec 9 amTBA8Walk & Christmas LunchM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *